TheCalmDev (Dev J Haldar)

ravings, rantings and ramblings

Requiem on Social Media

With 1.2 million ‘likes’ to a video of a hapless father singing to his tiny tot as he ebbs away is doing the rounds of the internet. Chris Picco went through a huge personal loss, losing his wife and child. I cannot get myself to read the complete article, much less sit through the video.

Death or loss of that magnitude is a very personal moment. The pain is personal. To feel that freshly created void in oneself and to mourn a near one well. To have a moment like that recorded and made public is something that I could never agree with. And then have the world, come and ‘like’ the personal loss is something that is beyond comprehension.

I feel it is sensationalism of sorts to have this piece of news being shared on multiple news portals.

2 comments on “Requiem on Social Media

  1. Mily
    November 16, 2014

    Hey Dev, was discussing about this video at work today. Cudnt bring myself to watch it. Didnt have the guts.

    • Dev J Haldar aka TheCalmDev
      November 16, 2014

      I completely understand. Ever since I have turned a father, I turn all mush at the slightest hint of anything child-related. This wrenched my heart out. So, didnt want to go through the video.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 16, 2014 by in Oven Fresh!.
Follow TheCalmDev (Dev J Haldar) on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

