TheCalmDev (Dev J Haldar)

ravings, rantings and ramblings

Careless Food, Callous Attitude at Mainland China!

Is it enough for restaurants to send you free food when there is a big goof-up in their order? Does that make sure that no unpalatable food will be served or greater care will be taken so alien objects do not appear on your plate? Is it good enough for restaurants to ‘act’ generous by not charging for the erred dish? I don’t think so.

I ordered for dinner from one of the local diners serving Chinese food. The restaurant recently changed from Chin-Chin to Mainland China Restaurant. They make some decent Indian flavoured Chinese with branches in Dubai Marina and Discovery Gardens. Every time I ordered soup, I overlooked the thin emulsion called sweet corn soup. Neither did I questioned the normal corn kernels instead of sweet corn. Overall, the food is decent and one doesn’t really care to complain when you are back from work, knackered.

Today, was an extra-ordinary day. The steamed chicken dumpling that came was hard with the flour coating sticking to the chicken filling. Upon dissection, I could see the thin, white lining of flour that was not cooked completely. Clearly, the dumplings were not fresh. They were prepared and kept in cold storage and quickly steamed and sent to us. When I confronted the manager, he changed his indignant tone and agreed to my exact belief. He admitted that they make and store the dumplings. I was ready to award them black points for doing that! Then, what am I paying for? For getting cold, clotted, thick dumplings that tasted like glue?

And if that was not enough, a staple pin from my wife’s plate of chilly chicken, did it! The manager tried to hurry the call up and informed me that my entire order will be re-sent.

Is that all? Replaced? If my wife had choked on that staple pin, I would have made the entire restaurant eat staplers for food!

I sensed no sense of remorse or fear. Careless, callous restaurant kitchens with over-priced dishes, serving cold-storage food!!! Outrageous!

The re-order food came by quickly. I dug into a dumpling with my chopstick. Just so that I feel that they were fresh dumplings, they were overly steamed. The chicken stuffing was hardened and the flour coating was still hard in places.

Take this advice, real good, restaurateurs – be honest to what you are doing and if possible, give a little more credit to your customers. Specially those that know their food.

4 comments on “Careless Food, Callous Attitude at Mainland China!

  1. Bindu
    October 31, 2013

    Staple pin! Thats outrageous. If it was a kid eating, s/he may not have even realised until they had swallowed it. I would have demanded my entire money back for starters

    • Dev J Haldar aka TheCalmDev
      October 31, 2013

      What can I say, Bindu! Rather sad for consumers who pay and yet get food that is not quality or ‘extra iron’ in them!
      Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

  2. Anwesh Koley
    October 31, 2013

    Valid point made….its quite the same in Delhi… pizza joints think keeping their outlets open late at night will suffice for uncooked, semi-cooked or ‘less than whats on the menu’ items… customers need to value their right to quality and food joints need to be more alive to consistency.

    • Dev J Haldar aka TheCalmDev
      October 31, 2013

      Completely agree with you – consumers have a right to quality food for the money they are shelling out. While government cells have consumer protection acts, restaurateurs should invest in sensitising their staff. Unfortunately, it doesn’t really happen!
      PS: Thank you for caring to stop by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Follow TheCalmDev (Dev J Haldar) on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

