TheCalmDev (Dev J Haldar)

ravings, rantings and ramblings

Use Mine, Misuse Yours

I could have done with a 140 character update. But, I guess, I need more space to rant! I am angry! My grouse is why do people mistreat others’ property?

The ethic of reciprocity has been mentioned in the scriptures as well. Do unto others as you would have them do to you. It is polite and empathetic.

But does that happen? Not so much with me.

Cars are a common example. Notice how careful drivers turn F1 wannabes when they drive their friend’s car? Guess, we all have a deep-seated sense of pleasuring things (the wrong way) that don’t belong to us, directly. No, I do not share my cars with anybody.

Since childhood, my father taught me to switch off electrical appliances when not required. I have been known to switch off microwaves on standby. I turn off TVs from their mains. I do it at home and outside. I think the idea of conservation is a good one. But I HATE it when people come home and ‘forget’ to switch off bathroom lights or switch my microwave off. You turned it on, now you turn it off!

It’s not just about electronic items. Books – am passionate about books, specially the ones on my rack. I have collected them over years and prize them immensely. You cannot tell the age of my books, as I keep them well. Fat novels and collectors books do not have the ‘broken spine’ on their binding, neither do the covers fold up over years. And I HATE it when people come visiting me and ill-treat my books. Half folded covers! And what is worse, ‘dog’s-earing’ the page where they left off!!! How could they!!!?

Clearly, it is asking for too much that my belongings be treated well. This is probably the reason, why my faith in sharing, is fast diminishing. I can and will share my things only when I see some proper care. If not, you are welcome to please get your own copy.

2 comments on “Use Mine, Misuse Yours

  1. Suzanne
    February 25, 2013

    “Use Mine, Misuse Yours | Dev J Haldar” was a quite good posting,
    . Continue writing and I will keep browsing! Thanks for
    your time ,Jody

    • Dev J Haldar aka TheCalmDev
      February 26, 2013

      Thank you for your kind words. Hope you like what you find here. Once agin, thank you for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Follow TheCalmDev (Dev J Haldar) on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

