TheCalmDev (Dev J Haldar)

ravings, rantings and ramblings

Tintin comes to Town

Finally a Tintin film!

I have been a Tintin fan for as long as I can remember. In fact Tintin has been a part of my childhood. I would be a ‘good boy’ to get my parents to buy me the shiny, glossy comic that was costlier than other comic books including Superman. And what I would get in a Tintin, I got nowhere else.

Then came Tintin’s animated series. I tried warming up to them in my summer holidays but alas! They didn’t strike me a chord. In fact, I disliked the voicing. Probably because I used to read them aloud with distinct voices. The full length feature film too didn’t do much for me save some forced excitement.

I did not think there would be a revival. I did revive my love for the boy reporter by picking up the entire series and subscribing to Tintin on Facebook. So, when I saw the first poster of this film a few months back, I was happy and sceptical at the same time. I knew one thing for sure, that the proof of the pudding would be in its taste.

 Last night was the night when it was put to the test. A test that could only be approved by a fan of Tintin. And I am sure, I am reflecting the millions and millions of fans of Tintin around the globe. And as the first scene rolled out, I kept going back to a recent Time magazine black and white photograph of Steven Spielberg, smiling and riding a bicycle in his studio. That smile wasnt just of a director; that was a smile of a Tintin fan! That smile was of a revivalist who was giving those millions what they wanted to see for years.

The Adventures of Tintin – Secrets of the Unicorn is a must see, whatever your age of height! Whether you choose to see it in 3D or 2D, it wouldn’t have mattered as much as the fact that this film captures and brings to life (well, almost) a very loved character. I was simply elated to see Tintin, Snowy, Captain Haddock, Nestor with the long nose and a few known henchmen!

In true cinematic style, the film manages to strike a chord its viewers, new or old. The film boasts of a super screenplay and some really wonderous visual treats. Scenes of the swashbuckling Sir Francis Haddock on board the Unicorn and Red Rackham’s entry is specially noteworthy. This particular episode of Tintin had a lot of Haddock narrative that has been translated into motion animation very artistically! Captain Haddock, certainly endears himself as the alcohol-loving sailor who uses the oars of his boat as firewood to warm his derrière! Special mention of the Thompson twins – they have always been a class act, at time petulant with their idiocy but always likeable.

Once again, cinematically, the film is very, very artistic and well produced. Details like catching dust particles in the beam of a torchlight have not been spared. It is almost like watching Tintin in ‘real life’.

Thank you Steven and Peter.

And thank you once again for choosing this story. Because all Tintin lovers will know that this story is not complete with two more to come. This is just the first of the Tintin trilogy. Till those arrive, I will savour and enjoy this film.

2 comments on “Tintin comes to Town

  1. Subho
    January 3, 2012

    Too good, Debu… Both the film and the review! Great going… proud of you!

Leave a Reply

Follow TheCalmDev (Dev J Haldar) on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

