TheCalmDev (Dev J Haldar)

ravings, rantings and ramblings

Le Doobey Humein

Symbolic!

His music and his songs have always done that. Drowns you and then makes you fly.

Today was a very special moment, when my friend and colleague gave me the best birthday gift ever – a chat with the man himself! So there I was, recording our chat in my radio station studio as Shafqat Amanat Ali wished me. This was a dream! I hadn’t thought of anything like this! I always harboured a secret hope that one day I would interview Shafqat again and tell him all that I haven’t been able to (ref to my earlier post Aankhon Kay Saagar: https://calmdev.wordpress.com/2010/12/12/aankhon-kay-sagar/). Never knew that that wish just came true!

This time, I grabbed the opportunity with both hands. Yes, he knows that I interviewed him first on Indian radio as he came to New Delhi for his first concert. I told him that I have heard Aankhon Kay Saagar , on loop, for three hours. I told him that I got my parents to his first India concert and my wife to his latest in Dubai. I told him that his experimentation with Raag Eamon or Yaman always manages to give the listener a ‘goose-bumpy’ experience. I told him that his ‘revivalist’ efforts of getting literary greats to the current generation is indeed noble. I told him that I carry his music in both my cars, my phone, my laptop, my home theatre system and even on my radio shows.

He hummed me a few lines from Aamir Khusrau’s composition Rang De. And when I requested him for Aankhon Kay Saagar, he just cleared his throat and gave me a rendition that I will cherish for life!

Shafqat, (and now I know he will hear or read this), you will forever remain a classic!

8 comments on “Le Doobey Humein

  1. Gopi
    August 4, 2011

    Oh yes he knows now 🙂
    And he also said he would be happy to come to the studio so that you could meet him 🙂
    I still cant believe this happened…
    Still get goose-bumps when I think of him singing for you.. And saying your name and wishing you..
    YYeeaayyyyyy .. it happened 🙂

  2. Dev J Haldar aka Calmdev
    August 4, 2011

    All thanx to you Gopi! No words to thank you! 🙂

  3. Sabiha
    August 6, 2011

    Just landed onto your page while looking for more of Shafqat’s work through google. God you’re just so lucky to have met him and experience him in person. His singing is a mirror of the great personality that he is. Your other blog post is incredible, truely defines the heaven like feeling one gets while listening to him. Here’s to us – fans – Cheers!

  4. Dev J Haldar aka Calmdev
    August 6, 2011

    More to the clan!

  5. vibhabhatt
    August 9, 2011

    You r very very lucky Dev!!!!!!!!!!! congrats and thanx to gopi too…am waiting for the interview recording on the soundclip….. 🙂

  6. Dev J Haldar aka Calmdev
    August 9, 2011

    It was a magical moment!

  7. Subho
    August 11, 2011

    It is indeed magical… meeting your favorite singer on your birthday who sings to you your favorite song. May this year be full of such magical moments, which you can share with us and your audience as well. Kudos, DJ and all the best!

Leave a Reply

Follow TheCalmDev (Dev J Haldar) on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

