TheCalmDev (Dev J Haldar)

ravings, rantings and ramblings

The Careful Deconstruction of the Legend of Big B

Very clearly, it was the pop corn and the person taking more elbow space next to me, that concerned me more than the colourfully dressed Amitabh Bachchan filling up the screen. It was a grave matter. Specially to me, as I have been a Bachchan fan for as long as I can remember. In fact his was the first name from the film industry I had stored in my head. Him I could spot in a crowd. He was unparalleled in all ways possible. The way he would wear his suits, the way he would walk, the way he would talk and deliver his dialogues, the way he would throw punches or just dance – Amitabh Bachchan was truly the hero I worshipped!

And while I was watching his latest film Bbuddah Hoga Tera Baap, I was filled with a sense of disappointment. To see Bachchan back to his ‘angry, young man’ ways in his present avatar was not gratifying, to say the least. Motley coloured shirts and loud dialogues wasn’t really cutting any ice.

This film could have been just another ‘masala’ film and would have been let off like that. But I guess the tall claims that all Big B fans will get to see him the way he was back in the 70’s and 80’s, makes the film fall deeper in the pit of flops. I am not taking away anything away from Amitach Bachchan. Thing is, he still remains the shining peak for me. He holds my senses with his presence. I listen to every word of his when he says anything. Unfortunately the way this film has been made or sown together, very ably kills the effectiveness and screen-charm of Amitabh Bachchan.

Note to the producers: you call out fans of Bachchan by promising to give some vintage Bachchan, but all you give us is another anti-dandruff shampoo that just isn’t good enough. As a fan, I felt cheated. All those posters with Bachchan silhouettes and famous dialogues really hyped up the film. It just didn’t live up to it.

There could have been a better way to pay tribute to the living legend. BHTB just didn’t seem the right way. One also must remember that somethings became legendary because of a lot of factors – time, people, circumstances and some magic. Michael Jackson could never make another Thriller.

In fact, a gentle word of caution to the man who is as close to me as is my father – you do not have try that hard. You ARE Amitabh Bachchan. The rest try to be you but you ARE the man! Gimmicks and films like these chip away the aura of the angry, young man we all know of. And I, for one, cannot afford to see you cracked at the corners.

3 comments on “The Careful Deconstruction of the Legend of Big B

  1. vibhabhatt
    July 9, 2011

    i havent seen this film and right from the time i saw its first promo.i was sure i did not want to c it…….for me Amitabh Ji is as u call him.the baap of bollywood……..and i want him to remain in my heart as amit of abhimaan or mili or saudagar or chinni kum……… i liked wht u said.he doesnt have to TRY…he is the ONE and ONLY AMITABH BACHAN……… U tc !!!

  2. Subho
    July 19, 2011

    Brilliant prose, Debu! Keep writing!

  3. Dev J Haldar aka Calmdev
    July 22, 2011

    Thank you Vibha and Shubho

Leave a Reply

Follow TheCalmDev (Dev J Haldar) on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

