TheCalmDev (Dev J Haldar)

ravings, rantings and ramblings

Life in a Studio

Life in a studio is different. Much like we all feel in the secure confines of our bathrooms. A studio has always made me feel secure. It is like an extended bathroom. I beg you, take a second take and try to see the comparison.
 
You dance, you sing, you are with yourself in a bathroom. It is no different in a studio. That place has an energy and a vibe like no other. To many others, a studio can be a very intimidating place. It has consoles that look like aeroplane flight controls; it has microphones in spider fittings that look like props from the sets of Transformer. There are a million lights blinking in various colours like sending a strange Morse code to Mars. And not to mention, the multiple computer screens that seem like Captain Kirk was there sometime back. One switch that turns the microphone on and also lights up the ‘on-air’ sign like a surgeon in an operation theatre!
 
How can a place as intimidating as this be filled with a vibe like no other place on earth?
 
Because, it is from this very place that one creates magic. 
 
One voice reaching the ears of millions. The unbeatable excitement of being ‘heard’; the rush of connecting with so many in a jiffy! A radio studio does all that. It makes the presenter feel as powerful as a premier. When somebody sits in his car and switches on his radio set, he is instantly connected. It sure is a high to be a part of a medium that still is relevant and effective in today’s day and age of instant reach!
 
In the life of most presenters, their studio time compensates for all that unfolds outside – the rush, the madness, the phones, the faxes, the mails, the frantic print-outs, the tepid preparations. I am no different. I look forward to my studio time. I settle down in the king chair and re-adjust my microphone, measure the distance from my mouth and keep it on stand-by. Check. I clean the mouse and pop filter (yes, I am aware of my OCDs). The operating software has a customised folder where I keep my music and sound effects handy. Check. I run through the list of songs. Check. I make a quick update on Facebook on my radio station page and wait for the clock to strike the right time and then I am ‘air-borne’.
 
Playing music is one of the benefits of my job and the biggest take back is the fact that I get paid for playing and listening to music. I have been in radio for the last 9 years and most of my studio experiences have been similar, save a few. As a presenter, I feel, one needs to own the studio as a driver owns his automobile. A presenter and studio need their courtship time and there are bound to be a few glitches. How deftly does a presenter overcome the snag and carry on with the relationship is in itself, a beautiful act.
 
Funnily enough, I have never said a ‘good-bye’ on radio. For all the radio stations I have worked with and have been associated with, be it in India or the UAE, I have always said that I will be back. And radio, always manages to get me back. Reminds me of the MJ song, “Never Can Say Good-bye”.

7 comments on “Life in a Studio

  1. Roohi
    March 27, 2011

    A very well written aticle Dev..as always 🙂 n ya.. what a vivid description of the ‘studio’! really just WOW ! Comparison with the bathroom was unique n was adding humour to the concept.

    Thanks to your ‘Captain Kirk’ , whose eg. really helped me ‘visualise’ whats all there happening in the Studios..hehe..

    Infact in my hearts of heart i wish to write ‘a biography of an RJ’..I ve been thinking about it for quite sometime now..hope will pen it down soon ! 🙂

    But yours is an inborn talent…n m nothing but inspired a lot !!

    Keep going n keep rocking !

    best regards,
    Roohi.

  2. Dev J Haldar
    March 27, 2011

    Thank you for your comments Roohi.
    Will wait for your book, though!
    🙂

  3. HARI ACHARIYA
    April 2, 2011

    Your article about “Life in a Studio” can be compared to a tight well-written script from Rajkumar Hirani’s movies or a beautiful composition of the great Pancham Da or an exquisitely crafted heirloom jewel, all of which one treasures a lot, as it touches one’s heart in one way or the other. And your article was no different. For a common man (the aam or mango aadmi, as the thousands of our tribes are called), it has always been a dream, a fascination as to what exactly transpires behind the four walls of a studio. And believe me, you took us into one roller-coaster ride where we experienced the highs & lows of being “On Air” from the comforts of our house/office. You are one of the lucky idiot (or the 4th Idiot from 3 idiots) who is following his passion & living out his dream…..Jaa Apni Zindagi Jee Le. Would like to hear more from you, thru your fantastic writing abilities….Keep them coming. Cheeeeers!!!

    • Dev J Haldar
      April 2, 2011

      Why, thank you so much Hari! Glad you liked it so. Am a bit overwhelmed with all your comparisons, and I humbly accept them. Thank you! 🙂

  4. Ankit Ojha
    April 5, 2011

    A movie should be made! Life in a… Studio! 😀 Excellently penned article! Your blog write-ups always hold a power to make the reader vividly visualize each and every happening in explicit detail!

  5. Sujay Sarkar
    April 20, 2011

    If only you were the coach for Himesh for the movie Radio, it might have worked. Not sure if you have heard of the movie. The viewers pushed the switch off button so fast on this one that it came and went away in a blink

  6. Dev J Haldar
    April 21, 2011

    *laughs* not sure how to react to the Himesh angle… but I guess I know what you are getting at.

Leave a Reply

Follow TheCalmDev (Dev J Haldar) on WordPress.com

Follow me on Twitter

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

